Immerse in Our History
In Pulaski County, our amazing history isn’t just something you read about — it’s something you witness firsthand. Thankfully, the museums around Pulaski County have preserved the stories of the pioneers, trailblazers, and heroes who ultimately wove the very fabric of our communities. Explore the artifacts, buildings, and legends of Pulaski County and see how learning about history here is an immersive experience.
The Museums of Fort Leonard Wood
The John B. Mahaffey Museum Complex in Fort Leonard Wood are the only location in the country to feature three U.S. Army museums in one complex — the U.S. Army Military Police Corps Regimental Museum, the U.S. Army Engineer Museum, and the U.S. Army Chemical Corps Museum. Open to the public, these museums highlight the fascinating history of these Army branches with additional attractions displaying Fort Wood as it appeared during World War II.
The Old Stagecoach Stop
Known by many names in its storied past — including the Waynesville House, the Johnson House, the Black Hotel, and the Tourist Hotel — the Old Stagecoach Stop in Waynesville was built in the 1850s and has served many purposes over the years. It originally served as a stop for the Burden & Woodson stage route. After briefly serving as a tavern, it was converted into a hospital during the Civil War when Union soldiers occupied the city from 1862-1865.
Serving as a hotel for the following century, the Old Stagecoach Stop became a popular resting point for Route 66 travelers before earning designation on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. Now restored to its 19th-century glory, the Old Stagecoach Stop offers visitors an incredible look at the various stages of the building’s life.
1903 Courthouse Museum
One of just two period courthouses on Route 66, the 1903 Courthouse Museum was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1979 and was used by the Pulaski County government until 1990. Home of the Pulaski County Museum and Historical Society, the courthouse spotlights the remarkable stories that define the history of Pulaski County, including the Trail of Tears, the Civil War, the Frisco Railroad, Route 66, and of course, our proud military history.
Frisco Depot Museum & Caboose
Arguably one of the most influential developments in the history of Pulaski County, the Frisco Railroad helped create Crocker, Dixon, and Richland. Today, Crocker honors the history of one our oldest industries at the Frisco Depot Museum & Caboose, featuring numerous artifacts and exhibits detailing the history of the railroad and the lives who helped build it. Guests can even get their photo with a real Frisco Caboose on display just steps the museum!
Located in the St. Robert Municipal Center, the museum features displays which highlight the history of the City of St. Robert from old photos, law enforcement and fire department memorabilia, Special features include information on the old race track which was located just outside of Fort Leonard Wood. Local drivers and some well known NASCAR family members made their start at this track. Collections from long time residents highlighting the formation and growth of the city. The Museum is free and open to the public Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Stop by the front desk at City Hall for access.